12 point goes to…Austria!

Yesterday night was such an exciting evening at the B&W Hallerne where in front of thousands of people in the arena and millions of people on TV, Conchita Wurst “the bearded lady,” from Austria won the Eurovision Song Contest with the song Rise Like A Phoenix!

I was watching it together with some of my good friends at home but it was still an exciting evening. I thought that most of the music this year was not so good but I definitely think that it was really well deserved.

Conchita+Wurst+Eurovision+Song+Contest+Rehearsals+pFsf3XAE7o4l

Conchita Wurst won with 290 points with the message of room for diversity while The Nederlands got the 2nd place with 238 votes, which was one of my favourites as well.

So, that means that next year the Eurovision will take place in Austria! Yeah!

Vienna is for sure one of my favourite cities in the world! It feels like going back to history and living in a dream city with so much cultural and artistic attractions. Back in 2012 I went to Vienna and had such an amazing trip, so this could be a great excuse for me to go back there.

me music

I want to share some pictures and tips from my amazing trip with you.

st stephens's cathedral

If there is any single place on the globe that can be described as the historical centre of classical music, that place is Vienna. Most of the greatest and classic composers from all times like: Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert comes from Vienna. Definitely a city of musicians!

me + mozard

When I was there I went to State Opera House and watch my first Opera ever. It was Tosca one of the best classic opera from all times from Puccini. I loved it! If you ever go to Austria you have to go to Opera. It is a must!

opera

operaoutfit

I off course had to try the most famous traditional Austrian dish called Wiener Schnitzel at Figlmueller restaurant. (The best restaurant in town!)http://www.figlmueller.at/en/about.html

restaurant2 restaurant

There are so many attractions and places to see and to experience that it is almost impossible to state everything all in a single post but some of the places i had been which are worth to go are: Museums Quartier, Museum Albertina, Schonbrunn Zoo (the oldest zoo in the world- where you can see Pandas), Schonbrunn Pallace, Madame tussauds, flea markets, shopping street, St. Stephen’s Cathedral, Orchestras among other amazing places..

cityview2

cityview7

fleamarket

cityview8cityview4

madametussauds

at schonbrunn pallace

ballet2

publictransport

It is so easy to drive around with public transport as well 😉

palace

me

schonbrunnpapalce

cityview5

city

Finally, no trip to Vienna is complete without a ride on the 19th-century Riesenrad or giant ferris wheel that features in ‘The Third Man’.

thegiant ferriswheels

I Wish that one day you get the opportunity to visit Austria 😉 so maybe see you there in 2015 for the Eurovision?

With love,

Noe

http://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/sights/must-sees

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

