Let jewellery picture her story

Let jewellery picture her story: An Interview with jewellery lover Joana Roxana

For Roxana, it all started as a hobby and as a way to express her own reality, but today she dreams of launching her first collection by the end of this year.

HYBRIDA girls love to see passionate people that enjoy doing what they love the most, because it is inspiring and it is important to support people like Roxana. We want to show the world that a dream does come true if you fight for it!

Today I’m delighted to share her story, her lovely handmade jewellery and passion for re-design of old pieces of jewellery.

So, are you ready to meet Joana?

Interview after the picture ;).

selectedRoxi

When did you start doing Jewelry?

In 2012, 1 year after I came to Denmark (I am from Romania). At the time I was studying management and it was not what I really enjoyed doing, so whenever I had some spare time I would do drawings, painting…so I started drawing jewellery. At that time I did not see it as something that would grow on me.

selected11

How is your design process?

I gather old pieces of jewellery from second-hand shops, fairs from different countries, and I purchase old pieces of jewellery that inspires me.

I try to look at other people’s work and get inspired with different techniques and afterwards I redesign the jewellery in my own way using various techniques.

selected1

What inspires you?

Everything that surrounds me inspires me. But something that inspires me the most is nature and Frida Kahlo.

selected2

Who does your jewellery appeal to?
A feminine, girly, and elegant person who loves nature, children, animals, and is romantic. Someone who has an inner beauty inside her and she wants to show it to the world in different ways – and a piece of jewellery is one of them.

selected3

What is your favourite piece of jewellery?

It is a necklace made out of an old bracelet, which was a gift from my grandmother back when I was only 18. It broke and I felt sorry about it so I decided to give it a new life and re-design it. The chain of the necklace is a silver chain, which was a gift from my mother… The pearls were purchased from a vintage fair. So I’m kind of wearing 3 generations of my family here! I feel strongly attached to this piece because it’s nostalgic and it brings me back good memories. It is a special piece that I connect to.

DSC_0085

Future plans?

By the end of this year I have a plan to start up a collection of statement necklaces using the Macramé technique. The Macramé technique is method where you make knots in a cord.

One of the main core values is quality so I will try to incorporate that into my designs by creating something rustic, simple – but unique.

selected4

Any idea for the brand name?

I’m not a hundred percent sure but it will probably be something like Joy Chic because my pieces are joyful and chic at the same time – those two words represent me and are also in my own core values.

selected5

selected7

selected10

selected6

selected9

Jo4

With Love,

Noe

 

All photos belong to HYBRIDA BLOG. Please credit accordingly when re-posting.

10 thoughts on “Let jewellery picture her story

Leave a Reply

